Religious Studies

General Information

Religious Studies has changed significantly in the past twenty years and it is increasingly important that young people have a more enlightened view of others. In RS we encourage students to be able to understand not only the world around them, but also to be made aware of the 6 major world religions.



Staff Member


 Mrs S. Jordan

 Subject Leader of RS and SMSC
 Associate Assistant Principal


Key Stage 3

At Key Stage 3, Religious Studies is taught once a week. We study the 6 major world religions over the course of KS3; Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, Judaism and Sikhism.  All units will be focusing on students’ ability to think about questions of meaning, in order to consider perspectives other than their own and to develop empathy, values and critical thinking.


Key Stage 4

GCSE Religious Studies is an option at KS4. It is taught 3 lessons per week and pupils work towards the GCSE from the AQA exam board. The course consists of two papers. The first focuses on the beliefs, teachings and practices of Christianity and Judaism. The second examines four religious, philosophical and ethical themes namely:

  • Religion and Life
  • Religion Peace and Conflict
  • Religion, Crime and Punishment
  • Religion, Human rights and Social justice

Students will be challenged with questions about beliefs, values, meaning, purpose and truth, enabling them to develop their own attitudes towards these contemporary issues.